The SP Parliamentary Group in the Dutch Senate

The Dutch Parliament (States-General) consists of two ‘Chambers’ or Houses: the First Chamber (Upper House, 75 Senators) and the Second Chamber (Lower House, 150 Members of Parliament), the latter being the more political body – the country's main legislative body, the former the “chamber of reflection”. All laws have to pass both Houses. The Senate is elected every four years by the Members of the 12 provincial assemblies of the Netherlands. The Group of the Socialist Party now has four Senators.

Rik Janssen

Chair of the SP group in the Senate, Domestic Affairs, Immigration and Asylum, Justice, Digitalization

Rik Janssen (1957) has been a member of the Senate for the SP since 2019.

Bastiaan van Apeldoorn

Finance, European Affairs, Economic Affairs, Education, Culture, Foreign Affairs, Defence and Development cooperation

Bastiaan van Apeldoorn (1970) lives in Haarlem and has been a member of the Senate since 2015.

Lies van Aelst

Social Affairs, Healthcare, Agriculture, Environment, Infrastructure and Regional Planning

Lies van Aelst (1988) is since 2024 a member of the Senate.

You are here